Cricket is an international sport which is becoming popular day by day. The trend of cricket is spreading rapidly across the world. In every 4 years, ICC Cricket World cup is held, and all the participant countries play one-day international matches against each other, and only 1 participant country wins the trophy.

About the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

ICC Cricket World Cup or the 2019 Cricket World Cup will be conducted played from 30th May 2019 to 14th July 2019 which is the 12th edition of the tournament. England and Wales will host this prestigious game of the 2019 Cricket World Cup. In this World Cup, there will be 10 participating countries and no associate teams. These 10 teams will play the tournament, where each team will play the other nine teams once and at the end of the group phase, the winning top 4 teams will proceed to the semifinals. The new countries such as Afghanistan and Ireland admitted in the Cricket sport in June 2017, and this ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 will be their first World Cup.

Due to the lack of or less number of associate teams, many questions were raised in the 10 team tournament. So, now there will be no involvement of the associate teams in the World Cup. This will be the first world cup to be held in the absence of fear playing nations and also the first world cup without any associate members to feature the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

List of the participants and their captains:

  • India- Virat Kohli
  • England – Eoin Morgan
  • New Zealand – Kane Williamson
  • Australia – Aaron Finch
  • Pakistan – Sarfaraz Ahmed
  • Afghanistan – Gulbadni Naib
  • South Africa – Faf du Plessis
  • Sri Lanka – Dimrith Karunaratne
  • West Indies – Jason Holder
  • Bangladesh – Mashrafe Mortaza

Hosts and Venues for the matches:

England and Wales hosted 1975, 1979, 1983, and 1999 world cups previously and now they are going to host the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019.

Previously England and Wales got their names withdrawn from the bidding list to hold the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2015 which was hosted by Australia and New Zealand later, of which Australia was the winning the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.

London stadium was decided to be the venue in the early stages post the release of the list for the tournament after the meeting of an International Cricket Council in Kolkata. The stadium in London was inspected, the pitch and dimensions of the ground by the ICC in January 2017 and concluded that the pitch was perfect to complement the needs required to host the ODI matches, but the London stadium was not mentioned in the fixtures list released later.

The venue list of the matches are:

In England:

  1. Kennington Oval (London)

Capacity: 2,500

Matches: 5

  1. Trent Bridge (Nottingham)

Capacity: 17,500

Matches: 5

  1. Bristol County ground (Bristol)

Capacity: 17,500

Matches: 5

  1. The Rose Bowl (Southampton)

Capacity: 25,000

Matches: 5

  1. Old Trafford ground (Manchester)

Capacity: 26,000

Matched: 6 (including semi-final)

  1. Edgbaston (Birmingham)

Capacity: 25,000

Matches: 5 (including semi-final)

  1. Headingley (Leeds)

Capacity: 18,350

Matches: 4

  1. Lord’s (London)

Capacity: 28,000

Matches: 5 (including the final)

  1. Riverside Ground (Chester-le-Street)

Capacity: 20,000

Matches: 3

  1. County Ground (Taunton)

Capacity: 12,500

Matches: 3

In Wales:
  1. Sophia Gardens (Cardiff)

Capacity: 15,643

Matches: 4